Campus 0wavs38zx6pg1rl_710_1

Published on March 30th, 2017 | by Jennell Retamar


Senior Awards will be presented at Honors Celebration

By: Jennell Retamar

The annual Honors Celebration will be held April 5 in the Eleanor Searle Drawing Room at 5 p.m. Various awards will be handed out that evening including senior awards.

Two of the most prestigious awards a senior can win is the James C. Rogers award and the Agnes Johnson Rowe award, previously known as the Miss Southern award.

These awards are a school wide vote to recognize an outstanding senior student in the FSC Community. These seniors are nominated based on scholarship, activity, and time served to the campus community.

Among those nominated for the James C. Rogers award are Joseph D. Alter, Joey Arteaga, Chase Hoyt, Kyle Shatto and Tyler Philolius.

The nominees for the Agnes Johnson Rowe award are Grace Diaz, Madeleine Henderson, Jessica Finocchiaro and Elise Pullen.

There will also be awards given to individual students, faculty and staff, and also campus organizations.

The winners of the recent Student Government election will also be announced at the event.

“I try to approach everything I do with passion,” Jessica Finocchiaro, a mathematics major, said. “I honestly don’t feel overly qualified to receive this award.”

Kyle Shatto, a Broadcast, Print and Online Media major and Spanish minor, said that his favorite leadership position to hold was IFC President.

“I feel like I made a positive impact on our Greek community, which makes up such a large portion of Florida Southern,” Shatto said.

The Agnes Johnson Rowe award, previously known as Miss Southern, was renamed in 1994 after the former Dean of Women and recipient of the Distinguished Alumnae award. The late Mrs. Rowe also served as Director of Alumni Relations and President of the Florida Southern Alumni Association.
The corresponding award for men is named after the distinguished James C. Rogers. Both awards are an absolute honor and represent the qualities of scholarship, activity, and leadership.
“I am currently am President of FloSoCo, our campus ocean conservation organization, and I previously held the Vice President and Philanthropy Chair,” Elise Pullen, a marine biology major, said. “I also hold the senator for Arts and Sciences chair in SGA and assisting accessibility chair. Currently I am helping bring Tri Rho, the marine biology society, onto campus,” Pullen said.
Grace Diaz, a Business Administration major, has been the president of the Association of Campus Entertainment for the last two years and also serves as the SGA Mocs Pride committee leader.
“I am a very active member of the student body, but I don’t know that that qualifies me to win the award,” Diaz said. “I am just very honored and humbled to be nominated.”
Related Links:
Campus Issues Answered in SGA Elections
Learn more about the majors offered at Florida Southern
 Florida Southern Alumni Events

Tags: , , , ,

About the Author

Comments are closed.

Back to Top ↑