Kenzie McMullen

Contributing Writer


The 56th Annual Grammy Awards was held this past Sunday at the Staples Center in Los Angeles, Calif. All the stars were enjoying the show when something out of the ordinary happened.

Macklemore and Ryan Lewis, most known for their hit single “Thrift Shop,” were performing their equality anthem, “Same Love.” They performed the song per usual, until towards the end of the song.

After Macklemore finished his last verse, Queen Latifah walked out on stage and said, “We are gathered here to celebrate love and harmony in every key and every color. As I look out in this audience, I’m delighted to see the faces of 33 couples who’ve chosen this moment to celebrate their vows here in Los Angeles and everyone watching around the world as witnesses.”

These couples were a mix of same sex, mixed race and traditional couples. After Latifah officiated the service, Madonna came out and added a version of her classic hit “Open Your Heart” and finished the “Heist” song with singer Mary Lambert and the rap duo.

As the couples kissed and cried, the audience gave the couples a standing ovation, and many stars were caught shedding a few tears. It truly was an amazing moment for marriage equality that will surely go down in history.

This shows just how much impact artists have to make a change. Macklemore, Lewis and Lambert are making huge steps in our path to acceptance of marriage equality.

Macklemore says in his song, “No law is gonna change us, we have to change us. Whatever God you believe in, we come from the same one, strip away the fear underneath it’s all the same love.”

Macklemore and Lewis won four Grammys. These include best new artist, best rap album for “The Heist” and best rap performance and rap song for “Thrift Shop.”

There were others who took home some serious Grammy Gold last Sunday.  Record of the year went to Daft Punk for “Get Lucky.” Everyone’s favorite robots also walked away with album of the year for “Random Access Memories” and best pop duo/group performance for “Get Lucky” featuring Pharell Williams and Nike Rodgers.

Newcomer Lorde won the songwriter’s award, song of the year for her first single “Royals.”

Related Stories:

Full list of winners

The “Same Love” performance, posted by Clevver Music




Photo courtesy of Creative Commons